About Us


The National Charleston Day Organization (NCDO) was founded in 1974 by Dr. Ethel Greene. The first Charleston Day Conference or “reunion”, as it was called, was held in August 1974 in Chicago, Illinois at the home of Dr. Ethel Greene and Mack Greene.

Dr. Ethel Greene, Mack Greene, Richard Street, Joe L. Jones, and Lucious Hawkins have the distinction of being the first “Charlestonians” to attend a Charleston Day Conference. Since that time, membership has grown to include hundreds of individuals.

The NCDO has active chapters in eight major cities in the United States. The organization has funded numerous scholarships, as well as other philanthropic efforts in Charleston and other cities since its inception.

Dr. Ethel Greene served as National President for 20 years and as President Emeritus from 1994 to 2001. The next president was Luannie Pitts, who served from 1994-2002. Then Tom Willis served as President from 2002-2008. In 2009, Alvin Johnson was elected as the next National President. Tom Willis is the current President.


– Recognized by Congressman Bennie Thompson and the United States House of Representatives for social and civic contributions (November 15, 2012). View Article