Charleston Chapter



The Charleston Chapter of the Charleston Day Club was organized in 1978 by N.A. Boclair, who served as the first president. The succeeding presidents were Grafton Gray, David Alford, and Gwen Dailey. Eula Campbell Johnson is the current president.

In 1979 Charleston hosted the Annual Charleston Day Reunion for the first time. At this time the chapter had attained more than 50 members. Former and current Charlestonians came “home” to celebrate and visit with family, friends and classmates. The chapter considered the weekend to be a success! The Charleston Chapter hosted again in 1991, 2000, 2005 and 2009. Currently, the annual event is hosted in Charleston every five years.

As of 2014, there are two founding chapter members who are still active and attend all Charleston Day events: Doris Taylor and Alice Goss Robinson. Pioneer members of the chapter include Sallye P. Williams, Vice President; Sara Townes, Secretary; Mary Williams, Asst. Secretary; David Alford, Treasurer, Grafton Gray, Financial Chair.


President: Bennie Paige
Vice President: Mary Alice Dogan
Treasurer: Myrtle Houston Jordan
Recording Secretary: Sevelda Taylor
Financial Secretary: Lynda Bradford
Parliamentarian: Gwen Dailey